Territorial jurisdiction notified


Finally, the Governor's Administration has accorded sanction to the creation of 398 posts of various categories for the Anti-Corruption Bureau and establishment of six more Police Stations over a period of three years starting from current financial year. However, no decision has yet been taken on the proposal seeking Special Investigation Allowance to the officials in the highest anti-corruption body on the pattern of Central Investigating Agencies.It was highlighted that the Anti-Corruption Bureau was still working with one-third of the sanctioned manpower although workload has already increased enormously keeping in view the deep-rooted menace of corruption in the State and almost all the Branch SSPs of the ACB were working with far less than the sanctioned strength.
The issue was debated by the State Administrative Council (SAC) headed by Governor Satya Pal Malik in its meeting held on January 14, 2019 and accordingly decision was taken to provide necessary manpower and infrastructure to the Anti-Corruption Bureau so that it performs duties effectively and achieve the objective behind the Jammu and Kashmir Prevention of Corruption Act. Of these posts, 130 would be created in Phase-I (during current financial year), 139 in Phase-II (2019-20 financial year) and 129 in Phase-III (during 2020-21 financial year). One post each of Deputy Inspector General of Police and Superintendent of Police, 4 posts of Chief Prosecuting Officers, 12 posts of Deputy Superintendents of Police, 38 posts of Inspector (Executive), 25 posts of Sub-Inspectors etc are among the total number of posts sanctioned for creation. Six new Police Stations of the Anti-Corruption Bureau will also be established in a phased manner over a period of three financial years-2018-19, 2019-2020 and 2020-21. During current financial year Police Stations would be set up at Anantnag and Doda while as during 2019-20 financial year Police Stations would be established in Baramulla and Rajouri. During Phase-III (2020-21 financial year), Police Stations would be set up at Udhampur and Central. For Anantnag and Doda Police Stations, 65 posts each have been sanctioned while as for Baramulla and Rajouri Police Stations, sanction has been accorded to the creation of 70 and 69 posts respectively. Likewise, for Udhampur and Central Police Stations, 63 and 66 posts respectively have been sanctioned. Though manpower and infrastructure issues have been resolved by the Governor's Administration yet proposal to grant Special Investigation Allowance to officials of the Anti-Corruption Bureau on the pattern of Central Investigating Agencies has not been cleared.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty