Mehbooba, other leaders misleading people of J&K: UDA


JAMMU, Oct 24: United Democratic Alliance (UDA) slammed former Chief Minister and President People's Democratic Party Mehbooba Mufti for her orchestrated remarks for various issues pertaining to Jammu and Kashmir.
"Mehbooba forgets that she and her father had the stints as the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir and abided by all laws which had been extended by Central Government to Jammu and Kashmir from time to time during their tenure or earlier," Rajiv Mahajan, Convener UDA said in a statement issued here today.
Saying that BJP has demolished the country's constitution and has been implementing anti-people's acts may be her party's view, but in practice all the chief ministers of this northern state have been abiding by the constitutional provisions which from time to time has been extended to Jammu and Kashmir, the statement said, adding laws and provisions of the constitution are famed by the highest Legislative Darbar of Parliament and are extended throughout the country.
"It is pity that some leaders of different political parties are raising issues pertaining to Art 370 and 35-A while forgetting that in the last 70 years several laws were extended and implemented in Jammu and Kashmir by the same leaders who also had the privilege of the Chief Ministers of the state. At that time, they did not raise their concerns that special status of Jammu and Kashmir was becoming hollow by extension of such central laws to this state," Mahajan said.
Appealing the people of Jammu and Kashmir to be careful about the double standards of various political leaders.
UDA has urged the authorities to take appropriate legal measures against such leaders for utterances which tantamount to violation of laws existing in the Union Territory.
The signatories to the statement included Lt Gen. (Retd.) Pradeep Singh Mehta Principal Advisor, Manish Sahni Former Convener, IG (Retd.) Sudhir Dogra General Secretary, Co- Conveners Col. (Retd.) S.S Pathania, Com. (Retd.) Bhushan Devan, Col. (Retd.) PS Jamwal, Col. J.P Singh, (Retd. DC) Vijay Sharma, (Retd. DC) M. L. Sharma, Er. V.K. Gupta (Retd. SE), R.K Khajuria (Retd. ETO), Varinder Gupta (Retd. Special Secretary), R.C Puri (Retd. K.A.S), Krishan Manhas, Satish Ponshi, Kulbir Singh Slathia, Bharat Bhushan Gupta, Gajan Singh Khajuria, Rajinder Gupta, Rajeev Luthra, Prem Sharma, Vivek Wazir, Rakesh Badyal, Pawan Gupta, Sanjay Jandyal, Varnider Singh Billawria, Yash Khajuria, Jaswinder Singh (Kuku), Sanjeev Sharma, Dr. Karan Gupta, Shiv Kumar Sharma, Rajinder Gupta (Bittu), Ravi Tikku, Rakesh Slathiya, Sushil Singh Jamwal (Retd. General Manager J K Cement), Shashi Bhushan Sharma (Contractor), Sheikh Sajjaad Poonchi (Retd. Principal), Sushil Singh Charak and Tanish Sharma.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty