JKHCBAJ forms Presidium, Wazir appointed Chairman


JAMMU, Oct 27: After the spike in Covid-19 pandemic the outgoing office bearers of the JKHCBAJ could not commence any sort of election process on account of lockdown w.e.f. the third week of March, 2020. The said lockdown and its restrictions are still in force. By virtue of various circulars issued by the High Court of J&K, from time to time, in adherence to the guidelines issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, the physical appearance of the advocates in the High Court as well in the subordinate courts has been restricted and is continued to be in force till date and even the entry of the advocates in the courts is totally restricted. Consequently the outgoing team of the JKHCBAJ constituted the Election Committee headed by R.K. Kotwal, as Chairman, comprising of Surinder Kour, Senior Advocate, Kishore Kumar, Advocate, C.M. Sharma, Advocate, Rakesh Chargotra, Advocate, Vikas Sharma, Advocate, Daljeet Singh Manhas, Advocate and Ajay Singh Kotwal, Advocate as its members.
In order to commence the election process the Election Committee made various efforts to initiate the election process which requires the depositing of the subscription fee of members and to update the eligible voter list to participate in the election. The Election Committee also tried to convene a General House Meeting, but the permission to convene the said General House Meeting in the court premises was declined by the Registrar Judicial, High Court of J&K, Jammu, as well as by the Principal District and Sessions Judge, Jammu. In these circumstances the Election Committee, after thorough deliberations amongst themselves and majority of the members of the JKHCBAJ, decided to constitute the Presidium keeping in view the difficulties faced by the lawyers' community as a whole. In this direction the messages were posted in various groups of legal fraternity on whatsapp. But barring few members of the association, majority members gave their concurrence for the formation of the Presidium in the given circumstances. As per the opinion of the majority of the members of the association the election is not possible unless the restrictions of the physical appearance of the advocates are lifted by the High Court. The Election Committee has already taken charge of the office of the JKHCBAJ w.e.f. 23-10-2020, as authorized by the outgoing team, who had demitted their office by then. Therefore, the Election Committee is left with no option but to constitute the Presidium for running the affairs of the JKHCBAJ during the critical situation. Before nominating the members of the Presidium, the Election Committee had obtained the consent of all those members of the Presidium who have nominated to be the members of the Presidium. The Election Committee has unanimously resolved to constitute the Presidium of the following advocates as its members as Ved Raj Wazir, Senior Advocate & Former President, as Chairman, D.K. Khajuria, Former President, P.S. Dutta, Senior Advocate & Former President, D.S. Saini, Former President, Surinder Singh, Former President, M.K. Bhardwaj, Senior Advocate & Former President, Sunil Sethi, Senior Advocate & Former President, M.A. Goni, Senior Advocate, P.N Raina, Senior Advocate, R.K. Kotwal, Advocate, Radha Sharma, Advocate, Mandeep Reen, Advocate and Pawan Manni, Advocate, as Member Secretary.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty