Congress protests on farmers, fuel hike issues


Jammu, Jan 15: Police today resorted to mild lathicharge and took hundreds of Congress leaders and workers led by JKPCC President G A Mir into police custody after minor scuffle from near Raghu-nath Mandir Chowk Jam-mu, when they were marching towards Raj Bhawan from Congress Headquarter Saheedi Chowk Jammu. The PCC chief Ghulam Ahmad Mir & others Senior leaders broke the police barricades & the enthusiastic Congress workers broke the Police cordon at several places enroute and forced their march ahead.
Carrying playcards and banners, raising Strong slogans, a massive protest demonstration as part of the nationwide programme of Indian National Congr-ess-"Kissan Adhikar Diwas" in support of the agitating farmers ,seeking repeal of three black laws besides roll back of unprecedented hike of petrol and diesel prices, the hundred of Congress worker's led by leaders of PCC, Mahila Congress, youth Congress, Seva Dal and other frontal wings, including Former Mini-sters, former legislators and corporators, took out a march from the party HQ today morning towards Raj Bhawan via residency road a d Raghunath Bazar.
Prominent among them include Former ministers Mula Ram,Raman Bhalla, R S Chib, Ravinder Sharma, Yogesh Sawhney, Balwan Singh, Ex-MLA, Kanta Bhan, Th Manmohan Singh, Rajnish Sharma Ex MLA Shiv Dev Singh, Ch Gharu Ram, Th Balbir Singh, Ex-MLA, T S Bajwa Ex MP, Ch Shah Mohammad, Shabir Ahmed Khan Ex Minister, Krishan Krishan Bhagat Bhagat MLA, Udey Udey Chib, Rajesh sadhotra, vandana Makhnotra, Feroz Kh-an, Ch Abdul Ghani, Vinod Sharma, Th Hari Singh, S Gurdarshan Singh, Suresh Dogra, Ch Dwarka & others.
The protesters were forcible stopped by the heavy contingents of police at different places enroute but the protestors forced their march upto near raghunath Raghunath Chowk despite heavy resistance. The police took most of the leaders and prominent activists at Raghunath Chowk and Denis gate into custody and took them to District Police Gandhi Nagar but several workers including women activists reached upto City Chowk Jammu and halted the traffic and held Dharna.
They were arrested at City Chowk & taken to Police lines later, they included Corporators Ritu Chowd-hury, Vandana Makhnotra, Dr R K Khajuria, Suresh Dogra & Virinder Singh Chib & various others Prominent arrested include Ashwani Puri, Pawan Raina, Shashi Sharma, Pankaj Dogra, Sanjeev Pandit, Sanjeev Sharma, Col Swarn, Tirth Bhagat, Corporators Bhanu Mahajan, Ch Sobat Ali, Gourav Chopra, Ritu Choudhary, Inderjeet kour, Mouddin Khemu, Pritam Singh, Rashpal Bhardwaj, all Corporators, Manjit Jatt, Amrit Bali, Dr Ramakant, Ashok Bhagat Narinder Gupta, Kapil Singh, Adv Bhavishya Soodan, Ch Aiyaz, Sahil Sharma, Karan Bhagat, Sonu Dogra, Vijay Sharma, Sanjay Manhas, Ch Masood Adv, Rehmatullah Rounyal, Rajesh Kumar, Gurmeet Singh, Gulzar Wani, Ricky Dalotra, Javed Lone, Baldev Singh Wazir, Kewel Yogi, Ashwani Sharma.
Lucky Ssingh, Ram Mangotra, Pawan Singh and Dwarka Prashad, Sr. Vice President Rural Dist-rict Ravinder Singh, Mohan Choudhary, Chander Prabha, Romesh Mottan, Shil Sharma, Gurmeet
Kour, Kuldeep Sharma, Rajdev Singh, Sham Mottton & others. Several other senior leaders also addressed the gathering at district police lines during Custody. Later the arrested leaders were released from the Custody.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty