Gujarat Titans beat CSK by seven wickets


Mumbai, may 15: Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans by seven wickets in the Indian Premier League here on Sunday.
CSK made 133 for five against Gujarat Titans with opener Ruturaj Gaikwad making 53 off 49 balls.
In response, Titans got home in 19.2 overs after a fine 67 not out off 57 balls from Wriddhiman Saha.
Wriddhiman Saha completed a brilliant half-century as he guided GT to an emphatic 7-wicket win vs CSK. Moeen Ali got Matthew Wade for 20 runs as GT lost their second wicket in the run-chase.
Matheesha Pathirana removed Shubman Gill on the first ball of his spell to give CSK a ray of hope in defence of the 134-run target.
GT openers Shubman Gill and Wriddhiman Saha gave their team a solid start in chase of the 134-run target vs CSK. CSK were restricted to 133/5 in their 20 overs as GT bowlers, led by Mohammed Shami bowled superbly in the end overs.
GT bowlers stuck back nicely to remove Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shivam Dube in quick succession. CSK's Ruturaj Gaikwad played some good shots from one end and completed a well-deserved half-century. GT bowlers dominated the game earlier with wickets of Moeen Ali and Devon Conway.
Mohammed Shami removed Devon Conway early, as CSK went 1 wicket down in the third over. Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat against Gujarat Titans at the Wankhede Stadium.
Gujarat have already qualified for the playoffs and they would hope to finish within top two to enhance their chances of making it to the finals. Talking about CSK, the MS Dhoni-led side are at the ninth spot in the points table and they would look to end their season on a high.
A day before the match, Ambati Rayudu had announced that the ongoing season would be last IPL, but he later deleted the tweet. It will be interesting to see how Rayudu performs in the match against Gujarat.
Brief scores:
Chennai Super Kings 133 for 5 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 53, N Jagadeesan 39 not out; Mohammad Shami 2/19, Rashid Khan 1/31).
Gujarat Titans 137/3 in 19.1 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 67 not out; Matheesha Pathirana 2/24).

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty