J&KHCBA Jammu organizes Welcome Function for new CJ


JAMMU, Mar 17: The J&K High Court Bar Association Jammu in an impressive function today accorded warm welcome to the new Chief Justice of the High Court of J&K and Ladakh Mr. Justice N. Kotiswar Singh. All the High Court Judges of Jammu wing of the High Court of J&K and Ladakh, also graced the occasion. The top civil and Police Administration including Divisional Commissioner Jammu Ramesh Kumar, ADGP Jammu Mukesh Singh, Deputy Commissioner Jammu Ms Avny Lavasa, Commissioner JMC Rahul Yadav, Sr.S.P Jammu Chandan Kohli, S.P Kulbir Handa were present on the occasion.
The Welcome Function commenced with an inaugural address by the Gen. Secretary Parvesh Salaria, whereafter Ms Anshuja Tak anchored the ceremonial Bouquet presentation ceremony.
President of the J&K High Court Bar Association, Senior Advocate Vikram Sharma in his Presidential address briefed the august gathering about the illustrious profile of the Chief Justice. Quoting live examples, the President of the association Vikram Sharma informed the Hall packed-to-capacity about the humble and down-to-earth nature of the Chief Justice by stating that Chief Justice had on spot asked about the possibility of slashing down the prices of the judicial softwares so that lawyers in general get benefitted professionally. President minced no words by stating that with the positive and constructive approach of the Chief Justice, the expectation of the members of the Association are soaring high. He contended that the Lawyers difficulties and grievances shall be seeing an early redressal with the new Chief Justice assuming the role of a new Head of Family.
Chief Justice N. Kotiswar Singh, by his oratory skills and masterly speech, he is known for, kept the entire audience spell-bound all through his address. The audience had many occasions to give a thunderous applaud to the Chief Justice in his well-meaning address conveyed in simple manner. Chief Justice emphasized that the young lawyers shall not resort to short-cuts prompted by impatience, as to emerge as the professional lawyers the youngsters would have to labour hard and get themselves recognized as such amongst the society. He stressed that the young lawyers should always seek guidance from the seniors in the profession to excel in their careers. Chief Justice N. Kotiswar Singh assured to the members of the association that he will try his best to ensure that the lawyers' long pending demands/ difficulties are redressed.
The J&K High Court Bar Association headed by President Vikram Sharma Sr. Advocate, for the first time, started a new series to honour the senior-most members in the Association by felicitating them for their life-long dedication and contribution in the service of Justice dispensation system. D.R. Khajuria became the first one to be presented with the Memento for his life-time service for justice to common masses spanning to 60 years. The Bar Association members with a thunderous applaud accorded a standing ovation in the honour of D.R. Khajuria Advocate.
Prominent amongst those present in the meeting included Sr. Advocate and former President P.S. Dutta, Sr. Advocate and former President V. R. Wazir, Sr. Adv. and former President M.K. Bhardwaj, Sr. Advocate and Former President Sunil Sethi, Sr. Adv. K.S. Johal, Sr. Advocate P.N. Goja, Sr. Advocate and former Sr. AAG Smt Seema Shekhar Khajuria, Sr. Advocate and former Vice-President Ms Surinder Kour, Roop Lal Advocate, Mr. Anwar Choudhary Advocate, Suresh Sharma Advocate, Ravi Dogra Advocate, Ajay Singh Manhas Advocate, Ashwani Khajuria Advocate, S. Sandeep Singh Advocate, Rajesh Thappa Advocate, Rajesh Lalotra Advocate, Arvind Khajuria Advocate, Anil Bargotra Advocate, Rohit Sharma (Sr) Advocate, Umesh Sharma Advocate, Sr. AAG Ms Monika Kohli, Mrs. Radha Sharma Advocate, Mrs. Arti Anand Advocate, MS. Rozina Afzal Advocvate, Former Vice-President S. M.P.S. Pali Advocate, S. Baldev Singh Advocate, Ms. Veenu Gupta Advocate, Mrs. Beauty Pandita Advocate, Ms. Jyoti Sharma Advocate, Mr. Parvez Choudhary Advocate, Pankaj Basotra Advocate, Rajinder Singh Thakur Advocate, Vikram Pangotra Advocate, Varun Kotwal Advocate, Atul Raina Advocate, Kamal Magotra Advocate, Rohit Sharma President YLA, S. Gagandeep Singh Lucky Vice President YLA, Mr. Yasser Khan General Secretary YLA, S. Karjeet Singh Johal Joint Secretary YLA, Mrs. Amita Khajuria Advocate, Ms. Supriya Chohan Advocate, Kumar Dakhseesh Maharaj Advocate, Ms. Mamta Chib Advocate, Ms. Sheikh Saliqa Advocate, Ms. Shubika Advocate, Ms. Priya Bhan Advocate, S. Sanpreet Singh Advocate, Sachin Dev Singh Advocate.
The function was co-ordinated by Chetan Misri (Joint Secretary) and Utkarsh Pathania (Treasurer) and the function was concluded by a vote of thanks presented by Amit Gupta Vice-President of the Bar Association and with the recital of National Anthem.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty