Initiating delimitation in J&K


Process of setting up of the Delimitation Commission by the Election Commission will be taken up only after Jammu and Kashmir formally switched over to the Union Territory on October 31 and a notification is issued by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs according 90-seat Assembly to it. The Election Commission of India is likely to adopt Uttarakhand pattern of Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir to undertake exercise for delimitation of 90 Assembly constituencies in the Legislature of J&K Union Territory, which will come into existence on October 31. They said Uttarakhand pattern was best suited for Jammu and Kashmir as compared to Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand, the latest States to be formed in the country as Jammu and Kashmir was also a hilly State like Uttarakhand, which has 70-seat Assembly and five Parliamentary constituencies. J&K too has five LokSabha seats after declaration of Ladakh as separate Union Territory while it has been granted 90-seat Assembly, an increase of seven seats. In addition to 90 seats, 24 seats in Jammu and Kashmir Assembly are reserved for Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK).
Majority of areas in both Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhandare hilly, the Assembly constituencies might be based on same pattern. However, all this depends on the Commission members, which have to be nominated by the Election Commission of India. A serving Deputy Election Commissioner has to be a member of the Commission. Uttarakhand, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh were the latest States in the country. Uttarakhand was carved out of Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand from Bihar and Chhattisgarh from Madhya Pradesh. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh have now become the latest Union Territories in the country though they will formally come into existence on October 31, as per a notification of the Ministry of Home Affairs. Ladakh as a Union Territory hasn't been granted the Assembly as its two districts-Leh and Kargil have Autonomous Hill Development Councils, whose representatives are elected by the people while J&K was given 90-member Assembly in the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act, which was passed by the Parliament and approved by President Ram Nath Kovind. Jammu and Kashmir State had 111 seats including 24 reserved for PoK while elections were held for 87 seats. With creation of Ladakh as Union Territory, four seats of the region were reduced and the Assembly was left with 83 seats. However, with increase of seven seats, J&K UT will have an Assembly of 90 seats. Two Women MLAs will be nominated to the House like the past. In the previous Assembly, Kashmir had 46 seats, Jammu 37 and Ladakh four. The delimitation of Assembly seats has become necessity as it would be treated as new Assembly altogether with reservation for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. The Scheduled Castes enjoyed reservations in the State Assembly also where seven constituencies were reserved for them including Chhamb, Domana, RS Pura, Samba, Hiranagar, Chenani and Ramban while STs had been denied political reservations.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty