17 new judges appointed in three High Courts


NEW DELHI, Oct 12: The Centre on Tuesday notified the appointments of 17 new judges in three high courts – the third set of appointments following the recommen-dations made by the Supreme Court collegium recommen-ded last month.
According to separate notifications issued by the Department of Justice, those appointed as judges to the Allahabad, Madras and Gauhati high courts included 15 advocates and two judicial officers.
While eight judges have been appointed to the Allahabad High Court, five and four judges have been appointed to the high courts of Gauhati and Madras, respectively.
Advocates Chandra kumar Rai, Krishan Pahal, Sameer Jain, Ashutosh Srivastava, Subhash Vidyarthi, Brij Raj Singh, Shree Prakash Singh and Vikas Budhwar have been appointed to the Allahabad High Court while advocates Sundram Srimathy, D Bharatha Chakravarthy, R Vijaykumar and Mohammed Shafiq will be judges of the Madras High Court.
Similarly, advocates Kakheto Sema, Devashis Baruah and Arun Dev Choudhury; and judicial officers Malasri Nandi and Marli Vanjung have been elevated to the Gauhati High Court as judges.
Besides, three additional judges of the Gauhati High Court have been appointed as permanent judges.
On October 11, three advocates and two judicial officers were elevated as judges of the Rajasthan High Court. On October 9, eight judges were elevated as chief justices of high courts and five high court chief justices were transferred based on recommendations made by the Supreme Court collegium.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty