Congress remembers Indira Gandhi on her 106th Birth Anniverasry


Jammu, Nov 19: Rich tributes were paid to Smt. Indira Gandhi former Prime Minister of India, on her 106th Birth Anniversary today. Congress organized several functions across the state, to celebrate the day.
An impressive function was held at Indira Chowk Jammu where floral tributes were paid by garlanding the statue of Smt. Indira Gandhi by the PCC Presi-dent Vikar Rasool Wani, Working President Raman Bhalla, senior Vice Presi-dents Th. Balwan Singh, Vice President Yogesh Sawhney, Ved Mahajan, Hari Singh Chib, Rajnish Sharma(Mian), besides PCC General Secretaries, Secretaries, Frontal Org-anizations heads, DCC, BCC functionaries and others.
Interacting with the media persons at Indira Chowk PCC Chief Vikar Rasool Wani recalled the bold leadership of Smt. Indira Gandhi, as she led the nation to great heights in the World and took courageous decisions in her life for the might of the nation. The Country progressed on all fronts and faced numerous challenges successfully. He lashed out at those forces who are trying to belittle the role and great works of top stalwarts of Congress especially Nehru - Gandhi leadership for political vested interests. He said the present BJP regime led by Shri Modi is making every effort to distort the historical facts to divert the attention of the nation from contribution of Congress & its great leaders.
Wani said that people of Jammu and Kashmir will not for give BJP for its historical blunder of disbanding a full fledged state Jammu and Kashmir and downgraded it to UT. In this way the people have been deprived of their powers and rights in an arbitrary and undemocratic manner. The party shall strive for seeking the full fledged status of the state and other constitutional safeguards for the protection of the rights of the people and youth of the state, he added.
Raman Bhalla while paying rich tributes to Smt. Indira Gandhi former Prime Minister of India, on her 106th Birth Anniversary, said that Smt. Indira Gandhi was one of the strongest leaders of the world so far and will always go down in the history of the world as the iron lady of India. She led the country to new heights in every sphere and enhanced the image of the country worldwide.
She always took revolutionary steps keeping in view the poor and down trodden sections of the society & was a source of em-powerment for women in the country. She nationalized the private banks, abolished privy purses & laun-ched 20 point programe for the welfare & poverty alleviation progra-mme for the poor.
Th. Balwan Singh Seni-or Vice President While paying floral tributes desc-ribed Smt. Indira Gandhi as a dynamic and visionary leader who remained committed to the secular and socialist ideals of the party and worked for the welfare of the poor and the downtrodden in the country.
She launched various programmes for the upliftment of the poor and the weaker sections of the society. The country progressed on all fronts under her leadership. She firmly believed that secularism is the basic strength of our nation and fought against the communal forces in the country, she sacrificed her life for the unity & integrity of the country.
Former Minister and Member PCC Executive Gurbachan Kumari Rana, Vice Presidents Trilok Singh Bajwa, Ved Mahajan, Hari Singh Chib, Rajnish Shar-ma, DCC President Rajouri Shabir Ahmed Khan, DCC President Jammu Urban Th. Manmohan Singh while addressing described Indira Ji as leader of firm determination & great courage who took revolutionary steps during her leadership of the Country and sacrificed her life for the unity and integrity of the Country.
PCC general Secretaries Pawan Raina, Shashi Shar-ma, Narinder Gupta, Satish Sharma, Suresh Dogra, Narinder Sharma, Thomas Khokhar, Seva Dal Chief Vijay Sharma, Chairman OBC Dept. Madan Lal Cha-lotra, Chairman RTI Cell Bhavishya Soodan, PCC Secretaries Bhushan Dogra, Sanjeev Panda, Hoshyar Singh, Vijay Shastri, Jati Raina, Dr. R.K. Khajuria, Charanjeet Bhagat, Ritu Choudhary, Dwarka Chou-dhary, Jyoti Vaid, Bhanu Mahajan, Bhupinder Kour, Parveen Singh, Vijay Malhotra, R.P. Sharma, Sanjay Rajdhan, Raj Kumar Sodi, also paid tributes to Shmt. India Gandhi.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty