Election Commission announces dates of bye-election on 13 seats in 7 states


NEW DELHI, Jun 10: The Election Commission of India has announced the dates to hold bye-elections to fill vacancies in 13 assembly constituencies of seven states.
The elections will be conducted on July 10 and the counting of the votes will be done on July 13.
The commission to hold by-elections on one seat of Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, and Madhya Pradesh, two seats of Uttarakhand, three seats of Himachal Pradesh, and four seats of Uttarakhand.
The seats in Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, and Madhya Pradesh are Rupauli, Vikravandi, Amarwara (ST) and Jalandhar West (SC) respectively.
The by-elections on two seats of Uttarakhand - Badrinath and Manglaur and the three seats of Himachal Pradesh - Dehra, Nalagarh, and Hamirpur will also be conducted.
Meanwhile, the four seats of West Bengal on which the bye-polls are set to take place include Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin (SC), Maniktala and Bagda (SC).
The last date to file nominations is June 21 and candidates can withdraw their candidature till June 26.
These seats were vacant due to the resignations or deaths of the sitting MLAs.
The seats of Rupauli, Amarwara (ST), Jalandhar West (SC), Badrinath, Dehra, Nalagarh, Hamirpur, Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin (SC), and Bagda fell vacant due to the resignation of respective MLAs of the seat while the seat of Vikravandi, Maniktala, and Manglaur fell vacant due to the death of the respective MLAs of the seat.
The Commission has decided to use EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines) and VVPATs (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) in the bye-election in all the polling stations.
An adequate number of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the poll is conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.
Meanwhile, Punjab Chief Electoral Officer, Sibin C has also informed the state's public that voting will be held on July 10 for the Jalandhar West (SC) by-election. The Election Commission of India has released the election program in this regard.
Sibin C said, "Notification will be issued on June 14 (Friday) and the last date for filing nominations will be June 21 (Friday). The nomination papers will be scrutinized on June 24 (Monday), while the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is June 26 (Wednesday)."
"Voting will be held on July 10 (Wednesday) and the result will be announced on July 13 (Saturday) after the counting of votes" he said.
Sibin C further said, "The model code of conduct (MCC) has been applicable in Jalandhar West Constituency from June 10, The MCC will remain in force until the election process is completed by July 15. Jalandhar West seat fell vacant after the resignation of MLA Sheetal Angural. (ANI)

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty