Cabinet portfolios announced, BJP retains top 5 ministries in Modi 3.0

Union Cabinet approves govt assistance for constructing 3 crore houses under PMAY


NEW DELHI, Jun 10: The Cabinet portfolios in the Narendra Modi-led NDA government were announced Monday with the BJP retaining the top five ministries, including Railways and Petroleum and Natural gas.
Amit Shah retained the Ministry of Home Affairs, and Cooperation while Rajnath Singh retained the Defence Ministry in the NDA's third term, where BJP did not touch the magic figure of 272.
Nirmala Sitharaman retained the Ministry of Finance. She has also been allocated the Ministry of Corporate affairs. S Jaishankar will continue the charge of leading the Ministry of External Affairs.
While, Nitin Gadkari also retained the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. Ajay Tamta and Harsh Malhotra have been appointed as Ministers of State in his ministry.
BJP President JP Nadda, has been assigned the Ministry of Health. Nadda will be replacing Mansukh Mandaviya. The former Health Minister has been given the Ministry of Labour and Employment in the Cabinet.
Dharmendra Pradhan also retained the Ministry of Education, while Bhupendra Yadav retained the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.
Ashwini Vaishnaw was appointed as the Minister of Information and Broadcasting. The Ministry of Electronic and Telecommunication was also given to him. He also retained the Ministry of Railways.
Former Chief Minister of Haryana and first-time MP, Manohar Lal Khattar, has been allocated the Power Ministry along with Housing and Urban Affairs.
Piyush Goyal has been allocated the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.
Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who took oath Sunday, has been allocated Agriculture Ministry and the Ministry of Panchayati Raj.
Jyotiraditya Scindia, who won the Guna seat from Madhya Pradesh, has been assigned a new role in the Modi 3.0 Cabinet. He has been allocated the Ministry of Telecommunication and Minister of Development of the North Eastern Region. He was the Minister of Civil Aviation in the last Cabinet.
Annpurna Devi will be the new Minister of Women and Child Development, while G. Kishan Reddy will be the Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines.
The NDA alliance partner, Chirag Paswan got the Minister of Food Processing Industries.
Shripad Yesso Naik has been appointed Minister of State, Power, while Tokhan Sahu has been appointed as MoS, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs.
Ram Mohan Naidu from BJP's ally Telugu Desam Party, has been appointed the Civil Aviation Minister. The youngest MP took over the ministry from Jyotiraditya Scindia.
CR Patil, the BJP MP from Gujarat, has been appointed as the Minister of Jal Shakti in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Cabinet.
BJP MP Kiren Rijiju was allocated two ministries Parliamentary Affairs and Minority Affairs. He was the Minister of Earth Sciences in the previous Modi government.
Prahlad Joshi has been allocated the Food, Consumer Affairs and Renewable Energy ministry.
BJP MP from Odisha Jual Oram got Ministry of Tribal Affairs while Giriraj Singh will be the Minister of Textiles.
HD Kumaraswamy, the MP from BJP ally Janata Dal (Secular), has been allocated the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Ministry of Steel.
Jitan Ram Manjhi from Hindustani Awam Morcha, an ally of the BJP, has been allocated the Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises.
JD(U) MP Ram Nath Thakur, son of Karpoori Thakur, has been appointed Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.
Rajiv Rajan Singh, also known as Lalan Singh, an MP from JD(U) and a close aide of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, has been appointed as the Minister of Panchayati Raj and Minister of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying.
Jayant Chaudhary, the MP from Rashtriya Lok Dal, an ally of BJP in Uttar Pradesh, has entered the cabinet as Minister of State (Independent Charge). Chaudhary has been allocated the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship and Minister of State in the Ministry of Education.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi took oath of office with 71 ministers Sunday to form the new coalition government.
President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath to the incoming ministers. There are 30 Cabinet Ministers, five Ministers Of State with Independent charge, and 36 Ministers of State.
This time, the Union Cabinet comprises 72 ministers, nine short of its maximum strength of 81 members.
Meanwhile, Union Cabinet in its first meeting under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday approved government assistance for the construction of three crore houses under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY).
This was the first meeting of the Union Cabinet of Modi 3.0 government held at the Prime Minister's 7, Lok Kalyan Marg residence. The meeting was attended by ministers of all allies of the NDA.
"It has been decided in the Cabinet meeting today to provide assistance to three crore additional rural and urban households for the construction of houses to meet the housing requirements arising out of the increase in the number of eligible families," officials said.
The government of India is implementing the PMAY since 2015-16 to provide assistance to eligible rural and urban households for the construction of houses with basic amenities.
Modi lauded the decision as a boost for "ease of living" and dignity for crores of Indians.
He said on X, "This decision underscores the government's commitment to addressing the housing needs of our nation and ensuring that every citizen leads a better quality of life. The expansion of PMAY also highlights our government's commitment to inclusive growth and social welfare."
Under PMAY, a total of 4.21 crore houses have been completed for the eligible poor families under the housing schemes in the last 10 years.
All the houses constructed under PMAY are provided basic amenities like household toilets, LPG connection, electricity connection and functional household tap connection through convergence with other schemes of the central and state governments.

Share This Story

Comment On This Story


Photo Gallery

BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty